I Break For Furniture on the Curb

7 May

I saw this phrase on a bumper sticker once– and laughed with joy.  I can’t count the times I’ve been driving and hit the breaks as I spot an old chair, mirror or dresser put out to be picked up by the town or city.  I usually back up, and idle while I contemplate could I squeeze this into the back of my car?  It’s rarely a question of desire- I want it! But CAN I muscle it in to my too small trunk or backseat?

Have you ever rescued something from the side of the road, or even — the dump? An Old Village Paint user sent us these photos of some rescued and painted items! (And a few creative re-use pieces too). The first two are rescued items . . .

100_0306100_0293

This piece the reader made from pallets. Impressive!

10-23-13 2

This black side table is a new piece that was made to look old! If you’d like ideas on how to do this, check out How To Create a Primitive Effect on Furniture in 3 Steps and Create Your Own Heirloom. 

Barb cabinet after

This bookshelf was created by turning a drawer on its end!

100_1368

Finally, a beautiful Stairwell– look at that edging! Old Village Paint colors + creativity = amazing combinations!
10-23-13 4

 

Thanks for sharing! What’s your favorite rescue piece story?  Reply in the comments or visit us on Facebook and share with photos there!

I have lived a long time and am convinced that God governs in the affairs of men. If a sparrow cannot fall to the ground without His notice, is it probable that an empire can rise without His aid? I move that prayer imploring the assistance of Heaven be held every morning before we proceed to business.- Benjamin Franklin

 

 To find your nearest dealer click here…  http://www.old-village.com/locator/index.php
To purchase Old Village Paint online click here…  http://colourcupboard.com

 

Leave a Reply

