Dazzlingly White Rooms

25 Jan

In honor of the record-breaking amounts of snow that have hit the East Coast this past weekend, I thought I’d do a blog post focused on the color white.  I LOVE the color, or absence of color, white– to me it is clean, and relaxing, allowing space for my mind to pause in the midst of overstimulation.

I have heard some comment that white is too institutional for them, but there are ways to add softness and depth to a white room, which we will see in some of these photos.

65368b6b9d4cee9054bf008ec4582f0f

pinterest.com

The white subway tiles, white floors, walls and ceilings in the next photo grabbed my attention.  I like how they added texture with accessories, including the rug, and some off-white fabric help provide a slight contrast.

e8bbfb385821e3cf0ebb03f86c7bf733

pinterest.com

This room seems very warm to me, the lamp provides a warm light, and again the textures used add coziness. (That’s a technical term)

1a0c72f138ca4b7930124936f3554b5e

pinterest.com

I included this last photo to show how much color accessories can add.  I love the books on the wall! Too cute!

5adf2effbfbb3b6651da5cf36cde8eab

pinterest.com

Which of these rooms were your favorite? Why? Is there a room or space in your home that you could apply some of these ideas to?  We’ve got some beautiful white products from creamy paint to whitewash to put legs on your creative ideas.  Feel free to order online– or call us, we love talking to customers!  1-800-498-7687

I have lived a long time and am convinced that God governs in the affairs of men. If a sparrow cannot fall to the ground without His notice, is it probable that an empire can rise without His aid? I move that prayer imploring the assistance of Heaven be held every morning before we proceed to business.- Benjamin Franklin

 To find your nearest dealer click here…  http://www.oldvillage.com/locator/index.php
To purchase Old Village Paint online click here…  http://colourcupboard.com
Leave a Reply

