Rocking Chair Blues

9 Jun

Today I’ll be sharing a small, but wonderful project I completed on a pair of very well loved and used rocking chairs. Here’s the before shot.  The paint was flaking off so I gave this chair a very good sanding, and then hosed it off with water.  Then, I let it sit and dry completely in the sun. IMG_0556IMG_0571 Then I opened up my Ohio Cupboard Blue and got to work.  I love this creamy paint! IMG_0574

I ended up doing two coats on this rocker, mainly because the wood was so dry it was just SOAKING UP the paint.  And now, for the big reveal: IMG_0586 Beautiful!  The finish is smooth and matte and as you can see the color dries darker than it appears  in the can.  I never get tired of working with Old Village Paint, it is so thick and creamy, and this acrylic had a soap and water clean up!  Laney, the owner, wanted me to remind you that if you send in a photo (oldvillagepaint@gmail.com) of anything YOU’VE painted with Old Village Paint, you’ll be entered to win a Kindle Fire in a drawing July 1st.  I have a Kindle and it is the perfect summer reading tool!  Happy painting (and reading)! -Jenny

“I have lived a long time and am convinced that God governs in the affairs of men. If a sparrow cannot fall to the ground without His notice, is it probable that an empire can rise without His aid? I move that prayer imploring the assistance of Heaven be held every morning before we proceed to business.” – Benjamin Franklin To find your nearest dealer click here…  http://www.old-village.com/locator/index.php
To purchase Old Village Paint online click here…  http://colourcupboard.com
Leave a Reply

