Preparing the Surface: Necessary Steps Before Painting

7 Oct

I was inspired a few weeks to repaint my front door.  I chose Old Village Paint Sunflower Yellow because I thought the yellow would add a beautiful pop to the grey exterior on my home.  I don’t know about you, but when I start a project, I usually under-emphasize the preparation necessary, dive in, and then hit trouble because of the steps I skipped.
Image
But this time I was determined to do it right.  So here’s what I did to prepare before I started painting.
Image

  1. I checked to see if I needed a primer.  Sunflower Yellow is an acrylic paint and the white paint already on the door was also water based.  Therefore, I didn’t need a primer.  (If you’re painting over an oil-based paint, with an acrylic paint, use an oil based primer first, or you can use Old Village acrylic Over/Under Primer.)
  2. I sanded the surface.  If you have a very smooth or high gloss surface, sanding will rough it up slightly and give the paint something to grab on to.
  3. I cleaned it well.  I didn’t need a degreaser, but I did use some water and soap to scrub away the sanding dust, dirt and cobwebs.

Image
Once I was finished with these steps I removed the door hardware and taped it off well.  NOW I was finally ready to start painting.  Tip: If you’re painting a door with groves or inlaid areas, paint those first and move outward.  The paint went on smoothly, and I love the color!  Here’s my finished project.  I’m so thrilled!  (I only used about 1/4 of a quart. So now I’m looking around wondering what else would look great this color!)

Image

Leave a Reply

